One Little Word® is Ali Edwards’ project in which we choose a word to guide our actions during the year.

2015 will be my third year into this project. 2013‘s word was LESS. 2014‘s word was WELL-BEING. Even though I didn’t wrote my words in murals or with giant letters, I did think on them a lot, and they still resonate with me. LESS changed the way in which I shop, I use my time, I do things. WELL-BEING changed the way in which I feel, I do things related to others, I say “no” or “yes”.

During the last few days, I started thinking about my 2015 word. I really know what I want for the next year.

I have 3 major goals for 2015:

  1. Improve my English skills.
  2. Make important progress on my research (Master’s Degree).
  3. Be healthier.

.

In 2015, I want to have a very intentional schedule.

In 2015, I want to see the results.

In 2015, I want use my time better.

In 2015, I want to build SELF-DISCIPLINE.

.

>>>> IMPROVE MY ENGLISH SKILLS

It is fundamental for my studies, for my career.

At the end of 2015, I need to make less English mistakes.

At the end of 2015, I need to speak in English fluently.

At the end of 2015, I want to be self-sufficient in English. I want to write without relying on others’ help. I want to write on this blog with no (primary) mistakes. I want to express my ideas as I do when I speak using my first language.

.

>>>> MAKE IMPORTANT PROGRESS ON MY RESEARCH (MASTER’S DEGREE)

In 2014, I defined my research topic.

In 2015, I want to read a lot about it. I want to write a lot about it. I want to master (acquire complete knowledge) about my topic!

I already have lots of books and articles to read, understand, make notes, and learn from.

At the end of 2015, I want to start writing my thesis.

At the end of 2015, I want to be prepared for bigger challenges in my career.

.

>>>>  BE HEALTHIER.

Of course I want to lose weight, but at this time being healthier doesn’t mean that. Losing weight will be the result. My goal for 2015 is to exercise daily and change the foods I regularly eat.

In 2015, I want to Walk at Home® once a day. I already started tracking it. When possible, I will walk twice a day. When impossible, I will just move forward and walk next day.

In 2015, I will decide (and make the changes) if I really want to stop eating sugar, and industrialized food.

In 2015, I will learn and make new vegetarian recipes.

In 2015, I will eat when hungry, not emotionally.

In 2015, I will listen, love, and respect my body.

.

I already know what to do to achieve each one of my three goals. I just need to build SELF-DISCIPLINE.

.

I am planning to use The Pomodoro Technique to help me to achieve goals number 1 and 2 daily. I will share more about it in the next few weeks. My pomodoros will be 50-minute work on the task and 10-minute break. I produce better in 50 minutes with no stop than in only 25 minutes as recommended.

Thus, I will need 1 pomodoro to study English, and from 4 to 6 pomodoros for my Master’s Degree studies.

I am planning to study English and do my research 6 days a week. I am not good on leisure time, but I will try to rest and enjoy my husband, cat, and hobbies on Sundays.

.

I am totally sure that I need SELF-DISCIPLINE in 2015. It will be a lot of work, but I am sure it will be worth it!

